Drama School Diaries (DSD) Part 15

16 Apr

Hey Penguins!

How r you?!

This week I was at the BAFTA…(stands for British Academy of Film summink summink summink)
I bet you’re wondering why…lemme break it down like a producer flip-dip-dapping beat boxer–woah…that was pretty lame.

I played a lead role in a short film 2 years ago called ‘MALACHI’ and it was premiered there this week!
Now lots of people, I’m sure, will ask how in the world I ended up being in a film having NOT been an actor. Well here it is.
I was in Brixton, performing at a gig; as normal, bit of poetry, bit of live bandy times. Good vibes. I finished my set, walked out the venue for some air and then there was bright lights in my face camera’s and a man around bright lights called Shabazz

He sat me down and said he’d written a play called Malachi and I LOOK just like the role for the person he wants to play Malachi’s mum; Donna Locke…I was like ‘erm…okay’…and then he said he’d like me to play the part…to which I replied ‘erm…I’m not an actor, I’m a poet’ to which he said ‘well you’d have to audition but if you can that (re: poetry) you can do this (re: film)’

So I audition

The auditions were held at Nickleodeon Studios (somewhere near tottenham court road) and I remember purposely dressing older to try and look like I was old enough to have an 8 year old child (heels, business trousers and all sorts mate), they had sent me a script of about 2 pages long, so I was practicing it before hand. I stepped in, there was a panel…and they asked me to do the scene LOL…and I did it! Oh my days…I remember thinking this is a bizarre experience…yeah; my first acting audition.

One of the people on the panel accidentally called me Donna, and it left me feeling positive. I remember asking my youth group at church to PRAY that I got the part, then I got a phone call the next day saying my audition was successful!

So there I was, Michaela…doing a film… Playing the Donna-Marie Locke….Mother of three children…how am I gonna rock dis one… at one point they was gonna sack me coz i was that crap, so I pulled my act together and tried to figure out all sorts of things to try and get into character. The process was amazing. Met a lot of people, my CHILDREN WERE AMAZING!

It was after that I thought…well this acting thing is kinda cool. After filming I returned to the usual circuit gigs- one of which I found myself sharing the stage with Babatunde (the comedian) he recommended I start taking the acting thing a bit more seriously and told me about this Drama School called ‘Identity’…i memorised the website, applied, had an audition and got into the Advanced Class…within 2 months I moved up to the professional class…then I thought woah, this is fun- I wanna do this more than once a week! So I prayed, dropped out of University (again) and auditioned for Guildhall!!

Now 2 years later…MALACHI premiers, and this kinda was a blast from the past for me…I couldn’t remember whether I was actually any GOOD…and so I was really paranoid about the Premier! Walking into the BAFTA was…nerve racking…I didn’t expect 500 people to turn up, but of course; they did. And people were recognising me…it was CRINGE pictures and all sorts; and u know I’m crap at those public things!…we went into the screening hall…I wanted to stand up and give a disclaimer

HI GUYS BEFORE THIS SHOW STARTS I’D LIKE TO INFORM YOU THAT I HAD NO EXPERIENCE OR INTENTION OF BEING AN ACTOR DURING THE PRODUCTION OF THIS FILM, THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ THIS MESSAGE

Unfortunately, I had no pen and paper to write that down…I couldn’t quickly edit that into the actual film…and after asking my big bro Christophe Pierre, shouting that out before the film started could be deemed as ‘crazy’

All I had was my mate JessicKA sitting next to me…Christophe and Shaz saying they’d promise to give me an honest opinion and lastly…my dignity.

Film done. Okay…I wasn’t as bad as I thought I’d be…i thought it would be TRAGIC…but it wasn’t ‘tragic’…any who…I got a revelation from it.

You know how the Bible encourages us never to despise the day of small beginnings (Job 8:7)? Yeah that; and I know that ones obvious but catch de nex one lol.

This film is my BABY. You know how your first film, your first car, your first school project, and it’s a BIG deal?? ‘IT’S YOUR BABY’ you know the saying right? Like erm…(american accent…) “this project means a lot to me, it’s my baby!”

Well that’s what this should be to me. Now look at the technical thingies: ‘MY BABY’: A real baby- cannot speak, keeps dribbling, can’t even sit up straight or walk…throws up spontaneously…I mean that’s not exactly inspirational is it?
Yet we go around showing off our babies, God-babies, nephews, nieces to the whole world! Because IT’S YOUR BABY! and you KNOW that this baby is gonna grow up to do GREAT THINGS! and it’s gonna be TALENTED, and SMART, and WISE, and BEAUTIFUL…

That’s how I should see my role in the film; it’s my baby! It’s the beginning of my ‘talent’…if it wasn’t for that, I wouldn’t have ended up at I.D and therefore wouldn’t have ended up at Guildhall!

I met amazing people. I played LEAD alongside working graduates from GUILDHALL and RADA, and they reeeeally encouraged me, taught me things, and respected me as an actor even though I had no clue what I was doing!

It’s good times! So learn this guys; those embarrassing moments, the moments where you FLOPPED completely; MAKE THEM YOUR BABY! Embrace them…be proud of them..because you KNOW that from there, you can and will only move forward!!!

The time you FAILED your exam, the time you forgot your words on stage, the time you didn’t get in to any DRAMA SCHOOLS, the time your boyfriend/girlfriend DUMPED/CHEATED on you the time you didn’t get into that UNIVERSITY or didn’t get that JOB even though you’ve got a 2.1 alllaa dem tings der;
EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENS TO YOU IS FOR YOUR BENEFIT (Romans 8:28)- THEREFORE, WHY BURY AND SWEEP UNDER THE CARPET WHAT HAS BEEN ORCHESTRATED FOR YOUR BENEFIT?!!! You cannot learn from what you HIDE!!!

DRAG THEM FROM UNDER THE STAIRS WITH A SMILE AND LEARN FROM ALL THE CHALLENGING TIMES!!!

LOVE YOU SOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!!

MICHAELA

2 Responses to “Drama School Diaries (DSD) Part 15”

  1. Precious One April 22, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    Nice to see how it all started.
    You’re flying Michaela…really look up to you and am inspired by wot you’re doing. This has helped me a lot 🙂

  2. :-) April 20, 2010 at 3:13 am #

    VERY ENCOURAGING!

    God bless

Leave a Reply

