Drama School Diaries (DSD) Part 20…Dedicated to Tracey

9 May

Hey Guys!!

Erm, once again, last weeks diary was kept private, sorry to withhold them from you, but I just can’t risk putting them online

And if you think the songs are about you; you’re probably wrong, get over it man.

This week has been pretty weird…recently a friend passed away after suffering from leukaemia (for God’s glory) and on Monday I helped out with her fundraiser ‘Tracey Says’ (that’s her name) to help raise money for ACLT and McMillan.

I’m one of those people who always think they’ve got their emotions in tact. When I got the message I just pressed the ‘back’ key on my mobile until i saw my wallpaper screen and could pretend like that didn’t happen…I just carried on with my day until I finished working for my school around 6pm…that’s when I just broke down. God bless my school mates who offered to usher me to the pub, but there would have been no point, I decided to walk home…then I remembered I had a rehearsal…I text my team to let them know I might seem a little odd and to not ask what the problem is.

We began rehearsing for Wade; this is one of the pieces I’m doing for Oraclez on the 31st…

Sometimes I feel like a motherless girl
Sometimes I feel like a motherless girl
Sometimes I feel like a mama-where-are-you-at-less girl
a long long long way from home

Wade in the water, wade in the water children wade in the water, God’s gonna trouble the water
See that strange thing dressed in white…

I couldn’t sing the rest without crying and shouting…God bless Tracey…you know I remember being in leicester, jamming with her and my other mate and talking the whole night, I remember that was the first time I thought ‘I don’t really know you…but I really like your heart’…and then I remember her taking a turn for the worst…I remember dragging people to blood drives, and I truly believed we could find a donor…but it didn’t work…

Wade in the water
Must be the leader of the israelites I think that
God’s about to trouble the water

Wade in the water
Wade in the water children wade in the water, God’s gonna trouble the water

She was young man…I still can’t believe it…I feel sorry for my friends that were REAL close to her, I know people die all the time, but this one was painful, she was young, and beautiful, with these sovereign eyes

See those young girls dressed in red
Wade in the water
Must be the ladies that Moses led I think that
God’s about to trouble the water.

Going back to school was easy until I had a second to think about it. I had to do a poem called the ‘Good Morrow’ and I couldnt help but cry my way through it, I tried to make it as selfless as possible…sometimes I think morning is selfish…Tracey’s gone to heaven…why is one really sad about that?…there’s no better place…

See the young boy in his levi jeans
Wade in the water
Could be my bruva from the block in hackney I think that
God’s gonna trouble the water

A lot of people came to ‘Tracey Says’…a few people came to watch a free concert, fewer people came to lust and dribble after the girls bums and boobs as they strided around with pride in Tracey’s clothes (they looked great, but gas the peverts), some came for knock-off krispy kremes…
others came because they wanted to raise money for ACLT…and the rest; the majority came because they loved Tracey…and they wanna help stop black families all over the world dealing with this again and again.

Black people of ANY origin are the group least likely to give blood…It’s time we started…please GIVE BLOOD.

www.aclt.org

One Response to “Drama School Diaries (DSD) Part 20…Dedicated to Tracey”

  1. Rachel May 12, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    I’m so sorry for your loss. At least we can thank God that she knew Christ, one day by God’s grace you shall see her again… in paradise where she no longer feels pain :o)

Leave a Reply

