Shamone

7 Jun

Yozzy Yozzy Yo!

So I’m walking home from school…iPod Nano in hand…earphone securely fitted in ear…listening to, I dunno…can’t remember now, probably PJ Morton or Lisa McClendon…I get to around half way between my house and my school, opposite to the construction site presently occupied by the hustle and boisterous bustle of builders, it’s like 6.30/7pm now though, so there’s not many people around, as I’m walking I hear them shouting something that leaves a hovering echo under the music…I thought I heard it, but couldn’t process it…I took out my ear phone and heard it again.

I stopped dead in my tracks. I look in front and behind trying to search for anyone that would lead me to conclude that they were definitely talking to someone else…there is not a soul to be found.

I made sure I heard it right…I did…they really did say that…

The builders shouted out at me…they didn’t say ‘OI OI SEXY’ or ‘LET’S HAVA GO’ or ‘SMILE IT MIGHT NEVER HAPPEN’ nope…not these common phrases…

They said: Shamone.

Yep…you know…like the late Michael Jackson ‘shamone’

It took me about a minute to realise they were taking the mic out of my hair…I wasn’t sure what to do…thought came colliding through my mind like rush hour Monday’s in Liverpool Street Underground Station, thoughts like; ‘my hair’…’the builders are cussing me…’ ‘michael jackson’…’i look like…’

I look like Michael Jackson…ME WITH THIS SILLY HAIRDO LOOKS LIKE SOME KINDA MICHAEL JACKSON REVIVAL..SOME RENEGADE CURLY PERM…Lord have mercy, I am NOT down for this…but I have to be down the for this…BUT I DONT WANNA BE DOWN FOR THIS LORD!!

Accept your fate Michaela…that’s the hair on your own head.

I was thinking how long it’s been since I’ve been insulted by strangers…it has been a while, I got cussed out a lot when I was little for having big lips, people were so talented; they would think of the worst, most devilish funny things to say and hurl that at me like siblings having a friendly snow fight (never mutually received), and it had been AGES since I was insulted.

Back then I developed this strong spirit, ‘if you cuss me out, imma laugh with you until you wonder what the point is’…but I seem to have lost that…I was genuinely shocked and offended…how prideful have I become that to hear something negative and think ‘he is NOT talking to ME like that’….

I gotta find a balance between KNOWING i’m beautiful but KNOWING that not everyone in the world will think so.

I think that’s where we get it wrong a lot. We think we are ugly because no one on earth thinks we’re pretty, we think we’re pretty simply because ‘people always said we were’
These are empty reasons…when people turn to dust and fade away…you and your Creator will be the only ones left to validate your eternal beauty so you should start validating is SOLIDLY NOW! I’m with ya!!

Michaela xx

5 Responses to “Shamone”

  1. Rachel Okay June 8, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    I’ve always felt sorry for “beautiful” ppl… bcoz I kinda of feel that they don’t know their beauty for themselves, but rather constantly need to be told or do things for attention… to be told so…

    obviously this is a grave stereotypical view.. but I hope you get what i mean…

    I hope you find the balance soon x

  2. Shaz June 8, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    :O) aww. But if you want to you can just cut off the straight bits and keep the afro curly bits and voila! We love you all the same though, chica. x

  3. August James June 7, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    Yup! I think everyone knows a beautiful person when they come across them, nd it has nothing to do with looks. It’s the kind of rare beauty that the Bible talksabout, the only kind that matters and the only kind that lasts.
    You can’t really care too much what some bored folk have to say about you, if its not you it’ll be someone else so let it sliiiiiiiidddddddeeee off you 🙂

  4. Shelly Hu. June 7, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    M, your last paragraph = the beautiful truth.

    Keep writing aloud x

  5. Shelly Hu. June 7, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Your last paragraph = the beautiful truth.

    Keep writing aloud M x

Leave a Reply

