I Cut My Hair!

17 Jun

Hey Guys!

If you haven’t read my previous two blogs about my hair dilemma then please do. I decided to do it….I CUT IT OFF.

I went to have a consultation, and she explained that she’d cut the back and sides off, and I booked an appointment for Friday. As I left however, I realised there was nothing stopping me from doing it now. She only had one customer…and I thought to myself  ‘now or never Kayla’.

I walked back in the shop to a mental soundtrack (you know that Rocky song? Dum, dum dum dum, dum dum dum, dum  DUM DUMMMMMMM? It was that one). They gave me an apron thingy. I put it on

‘Erm…you put it on the wrong way round’ said the junior hairdresser

‘I haven’t done this in 4 years that’s why it’s the wrong way round’. I felt a little defensive, there were people there, and I was beginning to feel insecure; but then she smiled the warmest smile ‘it doesn’t matter’ she replied.

As I sat on the sink basin seat I banged my head and let out an involuntary ‘OUCH!’ How embarrassing, all the girls with their long thick and straight hair, waiting for their relaxers to settle were disturbed by my pangs. I gave a low-status-it’s-only-me smile and they turned their faces in synchronicity.

She washed it, the big doctor who would later give me a cut told her to comb it out. She began, this took longer than she expected as my hair was full of accidental dreads and knots as a result of only having combed it 4 times in 4 years. The manager looked with curiosity and projected from the reception desk;

‘Why is it taking so long to comb her hair?’

‘I don’t usually comb or brush it’, I said

‘Huh?! And you don’t feel no shame to shout it across the room?! Bad! Bad! Dirty Girl!!’ She laughed…because apparently this was funny. I had no idea what to do, resorting to the low-status-it’s-only-me smile was the only option. Once again I became invisible and everyone ignored me.

She gave up on combing my hair and I got left sitting with conditioner for about 40 minutes, it gave me time to think about where I was…with my hair in that dreadful state I felt invisible…I felt like I was nothing. The room was surrounded by black heads and smoke coming out of them as strange devices tugged at their hair until the texture allowed it to fall weakly on their faces. I was trying to figure out how I’d break it to this hairdresser that I do NOT want any heat in my hair, this would be a challenge. As far as these people were concerned I was some middle-class (thanks to an unwanted learned accent at Guildhall) unkept, poorly groomed tramp. I was wishing a copy of this months Pride Magazine was out so I could show them MY DOUBLE-PAGE SPREAD, or that a copy of Black Hair & Beauty was there so I could show them my promo for my album launch from last year. But I had to choose between dealing with something and lowering my humility points…I chose the former.

‘Erm, I don’t want any heat in my hair’

‘Huh?’

‘I don’t want heat..you know, like straighteners and stuff?’

‘I don’t understand’

This began a long game of ‘what do you mean’, to ‘I don’t want it’, to ‘How can you not?’, to ‘I just want my normal hair’, to hairdressers whispering, to me cringing, to my hairdresser listening. Thank God for that. She picked up the scissors and ruthlessly chopped off the back and sides of my hair like a Doctor so trained in their profession they didn’t even need to look at the spleen while they ejected it.

Within seconds people began to look at me with starry eyes and smiles ‘it’s gonna look sooooo good’, the ladies, whose hairs had now been chemically straightened were now midway through once again; more straightening and they looked at me like I was a child beginning to say ‘Dada’ for the first time.

My hair wasn’t even dry yet; in fact it was still in conditioner, the only difference was it was cut off.

She finished it off and left me with rollers. It was so strange how those same people who didn’t return my smile suddenly couldn’t help but stare. I was bewildered, but at the same time, was not surprised at all.

My hair isn’t in ‘Shamone’ style anymore, now all of a sudden, I am fashionable again. I went to school on the Monday to greet various reactions.

Some noticed immediately and grinned wide-eyed and lovingly like my hair was a brand new toy; they’d seen the journey I’d been through and could see I’d finally reached a bus stop.

Some didn’t notice at all lol.

Others saw…but weren’t too sure of how to take it. It was too stylish…’oooo, it’s very…new, isn’t it?’

New as opposed to old? What the heck is that supposed to mean?

Anyway, it’s here. Many love it, just as many are probably intimidated by it.

I’m still warming to it myself…the rollers have lost their powers and now I have a heap of thick natural hair bouncing around the top of my scalp. But my hair seems happy, so I won’t complain lol. No more straighteners.

6 Responses to “I Cut My Hair!”

  1. Rachel June 19, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    *thumbs up*

    I think different hairstyles make us walk differntly and act differently [only slightly but there is a difference] i think it’s what the kids call swagger… but anywhoo as much as I loved ur afro… I SECRETLY LOVE WHAT THIS ONE HAS DONE FOR YA! lol i do!

  2. kathical June 17, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    I DEMAND TO HEAR THIS ACCENT!!! Oh I’m scared….right, a week with me and I’ll ESSSIIIIIIX YOU UP BLUDDD (but without the blud cos I’m far too white girl to make it sound even that quirky kinda cool) xxx

  3. Shaz June 17, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    Go girlie! wow – can’t wait to see the pics!!

  4. Lanre June 17, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    Ooooooh!!! I want to see the new do, picture(s) plurrrssssseeeeeeeee! Tee hee

    • S June 17, 2010 at 8:11 am #

      What salon did u go to? I swear, some hairdressers are so ignorant! I only deal with natural hair salons where at least the ignorane level is decreased somewhat.

  5. Christophe Pierre June 17, 2010 at 6:47 am #

    MMMM. Pics please??? Anyway, hopefully I will see you tomorrow and see for myself.

Leave a Reply

