Michaela tours Rotterdam wins Awards, gigs, and other thingies!

2 Dec

Hey Guys!

It’s a lot of things man…I finished drama school today (I’ll tell you all about that later in DSD 35)

OH MY GOSH, GORDON BENNETT! I fly away to do a weekend tour of Rotterdam in 12 hours!! I’ll be performing poetry and leading a masterclass with the hottest poets in Rotterdam!

Have I packed? No

Am I ready? No

Am I nervous? Yes

Am I excited? Extremely, I wanna meet knew people and make new friends, and now I’m seeing it as an opportunity to get some headspace and ‘me’ time in a hotel. I’ve realised how important it is…when I don’t have ‘Michaela-Time’ my time is only invested in the lives of other people…and I kinda forget who I am a little bit…and everything I can be.

The last time I went to any european country was Switzerland when I was about 14..I remember sleeping in a bed under a sky of cockroaches with my sister and my mum contemplating whether death would be more entertaining (as 14yr old teens like me do lol)..it’ll be better this time round..I have a feeling Rotterdam will be amazing…

I’m grateful for the opportunity, yesterday I was chilling with a fellow poet; who is extremely talented, we were musing on the fact that in London/UK it seems you can’t be “successful” unless you start out the same way every other poet did; went to the same ‘teach-me-how-to-be-a-poet-like-you’ workshops, got mentored by the same poets…It sometimes all seems a little egotistical, and like the typical workplace, it seems those lower in the ranks seem to be working the hardest, and listening to their works; they inspire me much more than those I am supposed to deem as ‘dons and legends’ (apart from Kat Francois; she really is a legend, and her workshop course was great 🙂

So poets/mc’s/wordsmiths…if the door keeps closing in your face, get some bricks make your own house, with your own little wooden door with no lock and key; that way you can go through, and you can leave the (unbiased, non-judgemental) door open for others to walk through after you.

Those in Rotterdam that follow my website (‘coz there’s probably like..millions of them, right? LOL) ; all you gotta do is google ‘MICHAELA THE POET ROTTERDAM’ and you’ll find info on websites…in dutch; a language I don’t understand, these sites could be saying anything about me lol (thank God for freetranslation.com), love you ROTTERDAM!!!! 😡

UPDATES

I won Best Gospel Act at the GMA’s!!! Ain’t that deep? Coz I didn’t ask you to vote! AND YOU DID!! Thanks sooo much!! I wasn’t even at the ceremony, I was stuffing food down my beak in bed watching X-Factor..thanks so much, you make me wanna do another free concert with cake…maybe even tea this time!!! And well done to all the other nominees, because I love ’em all; Matthew Allen, Marsha Garrick, Rachel Kerr, The Ambassadors (I don’t know who else was nominated and it’s not on the site, sorry if I haven’t mentioned you!! x)

Look out for a set I’ll be doing in the OHTV Studio’s! Catch that on TV (Sky Channel 199) sometime near Christmas!

December the 23rd is LOVE LOUNGE in Brixton at “DAHLAK” (256-258 Brixton Road, London Sw9 6AQ) I’ll be doing a set with full band..NEW NEW NEW TRACKS!!!

January 23RD is JAZZ FUNK’N’SOUL! This will be at the NOTTINGHAM ALBERT HALL! And Terri Walker is with me on the line up so that should be fun (I love it when celebish people do gigs with me coz loadsa people turn up that don’t know me and wonder who the heck I am…then I get to surprise them by being a half decent artist! woohoo!)

Love you!!!

I’ll keep you updated!..I should probably start packing now.

Rarely do people get to the bottom of these things. If you did…you get to find out that I’m recording my album with amazing producers and will have two releases next year :-P,

6 Responses to “Michaela tours Rotterdam wins Awards, gigs, and other thingies!”

  1. Shari December 4, 2010 at 2:04 am #

    hahahaha! this was very funny. and yet a very simple statement you said opened my eyes to situations that i usually find myself in. I need to plan me some shari-time! now wouldn’t that be fun! have fun in rotterdam!

  2. Rachel Okay December 3, 2010 at 12:14 am #

    Glad to hear you’re taking some Michaela-Time! We as people are contantly changing… you need to keep up with you! ;o)

    WOOO see ya at Love-Lounge!
    (By God’s grace)

  3. Kathapilla December 2, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

    IIIIIIIIIIt could be rotterdam or anywhere, liverpool or rome cos rotterdam is anywhere anywhhhere alone..anywhere alone. da doola do do da doola do do.

    =]
    x

    • Rachel Okay December 3, 2010 at 12:10 am #

      hmmm this sounds v. familiar! It’s a song right?

  4. waikisays December 2, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    OOoh I sooo wanna come to Love Lounge, I hope I’ll be able to make it. Well done for everything – awards etc. I remember I voted for you!

    Have a fantastic time in Rotterdam, looking forward to hearing how it goes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Michaela tours Rotterdam wins Awards, gigs, and other thingies! (via www.michaelathepoet.com) « Maximising Potential - December 4, 2010

    […] I love finding wisdom. I particularly love it when I find it in places that I didn’t expect and when it’s looking right at you. Duh! I love reading blog post where just a little statement makes me realise something that I need to do in my life. The only reason why I am reblogging this is because Michaela said something profound. She said ‘Michaela-time’. I don’t think there has been a time where I can say I have scheduled Shari-time. It’s been literally YEARS! Read the post and laugh (it made me laugh) but I hope that little piece of knowledge makes encourages you. I know it did for me! Hey Guys! It’s a lot of things man…I finished drama school today (I’ll tell you all about that later in DSD 35) OH MY GOSH, GORDON BENNETT! I fly away to do a weekend tour of Rotterdam in 12 hours!! I’ll be performing poetry and leading a masterclass with the hottest poets in Rotterdam! Have I packed? No Am I ready? No Am I nervous? Yes Am I excited? Extremely, I wanna meet knew people and make new friends, and now I’m seeing it as an opportuni … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

