WORK HARD!!! Don’t IGNORE this. (DSD Part 37)

30 Aug

Right…

It’s now been 2 years since Fixing Barbie and boy oh boy have things changed; Mainly due to school I talk and even walk differently, I look different,  my voice has changed, my writing style has changed, my music family has changed, I even have some different friends.

I’ve struggled with myself as I’ve grown lazy in certain areas of my life, I’ve patted myself on the back as I’ve grown stronger in others. I’ve probably cried more, and laughed less, but I’ve worked harder, and the rewards of zealous labour are priceless

However one thing has remained constant, and that is my determination to stay true to two people; God, and myself.

So I Guess This Blog Is A Shout For You To Do The Same.

Let me tell you something…I’ve been doing this whole independent solo artist thing for 5 years now and in the grand scheme of things that may not be long, but it’s enough for me to have learned a few lessons- lessons that you can transfer to other areas of your life; school, work, relationships, whatever.

  • DON’T ALLOW YOUR OPINION OF YOURSELF TO BE DETERMINED BY OTHERS OPINION OF YOU.

OK- The crowd didn’t cheer very loudly after your set/ you didn’t get enough Youtube views as you thought you would/ not enough people are buying your CD. SO WHAT? Does your world come crashing down now? You can’t lift your face up off the floor now? Don’t be a prat, if something inside of YOU didn’t tell you that you were amazingly gifted you wouldn’t have gone up on the stage in the first place; remember that knowledge; that’s the knowledge you need to hold on to. You have a value, that value is 100%, others may value you differently; you cannot let your value go down just because others say it should; you’ll spend your life like a schizophrenic yo yo…stand your ground, KNOW WHO YOU ARE.

  • PEOPLE THAT REALLY SUPPORTED YOU BEFORE DON’T SUPPORT AS MUCH ANYMORE

Happens to me constantly. SO WHAT? You obviously don’t need them because if you DID, GOD would have kept them there..DUH! Listen..you HAVE to know that with God, you can do it without them, He will put other people in your life to take you further if and when HE wants.

  • EVERYTHING IS SO HARD…too hard, TOO MANY DOORS CLOSING IN YOUR FACE, you’re being overlooked all the time…*sad face*

Well welcome to London/USA…THE WORLD! Here you WORK WORK WORK, the alternative option is NOT AN OPTION. Life is NOT easy, no one said it wouldn’t involve sweat..and you need to start to see sweat as a good thing; it’s a challenge, and like I always say; you are only competing with yourself, so if you don’t come out a champion..that’s pretty pathetic, isn’t it? It’s like you’ll get to the finish line last..and you will be laughing…at yourself> awkward times.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • IF I DON’T DO ‘SOMETHING’…EVERYONE’S GONNA FORGET ABOUT ME

LET THEM FORGET, that way it’s an even bigger POW when they remember! You can’t run after the public/your audience/your career like an owner being dragged down a park by a dog on prozac…it should really be the other way round. Do things in YOUR TIME!

You wanna take things slow..then take it slow, you wanna just let it all out, then let it all out. I am sooo tired of people trying to tell me to do it like Beyonce/Madonna/Rihanna did it; I AM NOT ANY OF THOSE PEOPLE, nor am I signed to a major record label, we live in a place called the UNDERGROUND..and here..the only rules are the ones an artist creates at any given time, so do what you want, just think about it properly. Trust yourself..you know what your doing, God has put at least an ounce of wisdom in you surely lol.

People may think you’re slacking, or think whatever but it doesn’t matter..be CONTENT with knowing where you’re going, as content as Jesus was when He knew he’d rise on the third day; the disciples weren’t content…until when? UNTIL THEY SAW IT. It’s the same; and if JESUS himself couldn’t convince anyone of His plans HOW CAN YOU? Just shut up, and keep your eyes on the prize.

Hope I helped 🙂

Love you

MICHAELA COEL

NEW MUSIC DEMO’S AVAILABLE HERE: CLICK

Oh P.S.- Next gig; Saturday 3rd September at ULU The Venue WC1F 7HL for more info go to guvnab.com

10 Responses to “WORK HARD!!! Don’t IGNORE this. (DSD Part 37)”

  1. Elodie D. September 23, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    I just love this post, and this girl too. I needed this one.
    Well I dont know till when i’ll support you Michaela but one thing i know is that am sincerely praying God for your everlasting blessings going straight to your heart.
    (Imma keep this word of wisdom somewhere..)

  2. Timeyin September 2, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    Ur blogs are definately some of the most engaging readings I’ve ever come across!! This really is a word in season for me as well. Thanks for sharing the wisdom.

  3. Dayo Racheal Adeoye August 31, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Love! God bless!

  4. Lánre August 31, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    This right here is the TRUTH! Here is to 5 more years and beyond 😉

  5. Kay J August 31, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Thanks for this, love it.. God bless you..x

  6. Faith August 31, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    God Bless You. I needed to see this. 🙂

  7. Karl Nova August 31, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    I love this post! Thanks for this reminder. One of the hardest things to deal with as an underground artist is the need for validation.

    Thanks for reminding me that focusing on God and the path you’re on comes first. It’s not like we don’t know these things we just need to keep reminding ourselves!

  8. designbyspirit August 31, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    AWESOME POST HUN!!! This was perfect timing for me as your posts always are. Miss you (but I know that’s my fault). Love Ya.

  9. Rachel August 31, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    “People may think you’re slacking, or think whatever but it doesn’t matter..be CONTENT with knowing where you’re going, as content as Jesus was when He knew he’d rise on the third day; the disciples weren’t content…until when? UNTIL THEY SAW IT. It’s the same; and if JESUS himself couldn’t convince anyone of His plans HOW CAN YOU? Just shut up, and keep your eyes on the prize.”

    x ❤ x

  10. Ella August 31, 2011 at 12:29 am #

    Very wise words here Michaela, that’s exactly how to do it if you’re gonna do it well 🙂

Leave a Reply

